top of page
Screenshot 2024-03-28 at 4.33_edited.jpg

Every Little Thing She Does is Magic

Buy now from:

Screenshot 2024-05-17 at 9.25_edited.png
Screenshot 2024-05-17 at 9.19_edited.jpg
Screenshot 2024-05-17 at 9.22_edited.png

Every Little Thing She Does is Magic

By Michelle Hébert
Vagrant Press • May 7, 2024 • $22.95 CA, $18.95 US

A darkly humorous family saga set in Nova Scotia about a young woman coming of age in a family that believes it’s cursed, for fans of Emma Straub and Lesley Crewe.

Kitten Love’s family is haunted by the memory of her teenaged aunt, Nerida, who died just days before Kitten’s birth in 1970. Her mother, Queena, believes the family is cursed, and she’s determined not to let disaster strike again. She won’t let Kitten out of her sight—especially to visit the beaches that surround the town. She’s built a bomb shelter to protect against Soviet attack, and she’s desperate to protect her husband, Stubby, from the fatal and mysterious Love Heart.

 

Kitten thinks she knows how to defeat their curse: magic. But when protection spells and clues from tarot cards aren’t enough to save Stubby, Kitten turns her back on the things that make her life magical, and Queena turns her back on reality. She preserves every- thing as it was the day Stubby died in 1987—from the gold shag rug in the bathroom to the Duran Duran posters in Kitten’s room. Kitten, herself, is forbidden to change.

Kitten tastes freedom when she falls in love and moves to British Columbia, but reinvent- ing herself without the curse is harder than she expects. Tragedy and her own reliance on magical thinking eventually lead her back home to Queena, her brother Thom, and Aunt Bunny, who are equally stuck in their pasts. When tarot cards begin mysteriously showing up in her room, warning of a betrayal and encouraging an unlikely romance, she’s certain someone is watching her. Could the heartbreak that almost destroyed Kitten’s family be the very thing that helps them move on?

A darkly humorous family saga woven around tarot cards and a mixtape of ’80s songs, Every Little Thing She Does is Magic is a heady mix of music, ghosts, love, and nostalgia.

Advance Praise

“In this hilarious romp of a fiction debut, Michelle Hébert cements her place on Canada's literary scene. Loveable, flawed characters leap from the page with life...even the ghostly ones, while they navigate love, grief, and the complexity of family. Delightfully funny, smart, and deliciously written, Hébert dives deep into emotions that haunt us all in daily life, all while reminding us of our shared humanity that makes life sparkle. Buckle up for a ride back in time—you're in good hands with this masterful storyteller.”

Kelly S. Thompson, national bestselling author of Girls Needs Not Apply and Still, I Cannot Save You

Content Warnings for
Every Little Thing She Does is Magic

This work of fiction contains themes that might be difficult for some readers. These include:

  • Mental Illness

  • Miscarriage

  • Death

  • Grief

bottom of page